Feb. 14th, 2011

msfledermaus: (Default)
...*blows a kiss*

I know this holiday is annoying and schlocky for a lot of people...A lot of people I know absolutely loathe Valentine's day, and their reasons are pretty valid. It's commercial, it's a gimmick for Hallmark to strip you of your money, it puts lots of pressure on people, etcetra. But you could say that for just about every holiday these days, really. I think people really hate this holiday so much more because it puts them on the spot in a much more intimate way than Christmas or Thanksgiving or what have you. Nobody likes having an entire industry conspiring to prey on that vunerability to make a buck...

Having said that, personally, I think it's nice to have something break the terrible gray monotony that is February. I was one of those horrible little kids that loved making valentines from scratch, using every shade of glitter at my disposal. I sent people flowers. I made weird little gifts. When I was having some kind of long dry spell dating-wise, I'd buy a stupidly big box of candy, preferably with Elvis on the front. I'd pair it with some champagne and a foofy bubblebath, and it made for a fun evening. It doesn't have to be a manipulative train-wreck holiday, not really. Granted, I am a sappy creature...but there's nothing wrong with that, if you can own it.

So happy Valentine's day, and I hope it'll be a good one. And if it makes you want to scream, just think of a small kid covered with white glue and various glitters, making you a card with lots of exuberant crayon all over it. That would be me...

June 2015

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 05:09 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios