msfledermaus: (Default)
[personal profile] msfledermaus
I'm goofing on the computer and petting kitties, relaxing. I don't have to work today, even though there's an RNC event at work. *shakes head* I know it should be my civic duty to be out in St. Paul with the protesters, maybe hanging out on Harriet Island at the music event...but I thought about it: Bad traffic in a place under lockdown, to pay money to get tased and maced by our finest Boys in Blue...no thanks.(Not least because working security stuff like I do, I can't afford to be arrested for civil disobedience; I'd probably lose my job.) Which makes me sad, because that's what the feds are going for, apparently. So I'm protesting here, with my wee blog, since there are so many of them that the Effa-Bee-Eye can't possibly read us all. And if they do read mine, all the blather about knitting and spinning and whatnot would probably put them straight to sleep. Hi guys...Mostly harmless here, you can move along, really...but for the record, we're not down with harassing innocent people. You know that. Just sayin'...

It scares me so much that people are being arrested and threatened and such just for planning to protest the RNC. We've fallen so far away from the rights we're supposed to have, some days I feel as if we'll never get them back. And everybody feels that harassment right now in the city; no matter how we're involved. Yesterday I was working the Jade Mines and you never saw so many Obama t-shirts in your life, or so many people packed into the political art galleries. The patrons looked tense, all of them, no matter who they were. We had a bigshot from the convention in with his family and a couple of bodyguards, and the guards were all whispering about the guy wearing a blazer on a hot summer day with an earpiece and a suspicious bulge under his jacket. I can only imagine what it's like at work at the moment.

At least it's a nice day, and I slept in like crazy--Ben the Neighbor had his birthday party last night, and we all got together in the back yard to celebrate. Happy Birthday, Ben the Neighbor...and may you have many, many more...

Date: 2008-09-01 05:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pianolessdevil.livejournal.com
Yeah, I've been reading about those raids. The shame...I do believe Republicans are afraid of four-year olds. XD

You take alright? I don't wanna see you get arrested for petting a kittie.

Date: 2008-09-01 05:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
I just hope if I do that the kittie will defend my rights in court. I might have to feed her extra cheese to stay on her good side:)

Date: 2008-09-02 01:53 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bbcaddict.livejournal.com
I would be fucking scared as hell too.
I didn't hear anything like this happening during the Democratic convention.
ugh.

Date: 2008-09-02 11:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
yeah...they didn't have this at the other convention because the Dems don't have the death-grip on power like the Reps have now. *shudder*

Date: 2008-09-02 03:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bbcaddict.livejournal.com
well also they know that they are immensely unliked and highly corrupt all the way through.

they had a guy from Bemidji on the NPR this morning talking about how he came down to march against the war. It was awesome. Go Bemidji!

June 2015

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:51 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios