msfledermaus: (Default)
[personal profile] msfledermaus
I'm having some fun upstairs today at the Mines. We have a load of Japanese tourists, who are very sweet and have no English at all. I've been ransacking my head for my crappy vacation-Japanese...words like, 'Excuse me" "I'm sorry" "Yes" "No" "Please" Thank you" to communicate, along with a wide variety of hand gestures and facial expressions. I have to admit, it's kind of fun, and it makes me want to brush up on my languages in general...

Also, yesterday was more fun that I'd anticipated. Matt and Peaty came to the Patio with really tasty Hmong food, and we all had nibbles and caught up. Captain Emily came by and custom-drew a rabbit-monster for me, reacting to a Yodeling Nipple-Frog on the other half of the drawing. (I will take a picture, I promise. It's worth seeing.) I carded a small bag of the Shetland wool I'd been washing, too. (It was *really* full of hay. I think next time I get an urge to go from sheep to mittens all by myself I should get cleaner wool to start with.)

Now when I get home, I get to do some work on a pinata for the weekend. It's for Liz's Bastille Day party, so I'm making the severed head of a snooty French aristocrat. If I get the forms laid out today, assembly should be fairly quick and really fun. Mehehheh. *rubs hands and cackles gleefully*

So, the usual...plotting mischief and getting up to my elbows in paste and glitter-glue:)

Date: 2009-07-08 08:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mcohenmn.livejournal.com
E was talking earlier about making one - I told her you were on it already - maybe you could coordinate.

Date: 2009-07-09 10:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
I am delighted to have E on any artistic project...and we had fun playing with all that floury newspaper:)

Date: 2009-07-09 01:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] banana.livejournal.com
You made me read the word "nipple" at work, so now you *have* to post a picture.

OMG, I typed the word too! My computer will explode at any moment!

It occurred to me recently that I don't know one single word in Japanese, and ditto Korean, Thai, etc etc. The only thing I can say in Chinese is "happy new year". I'm embarrassingly Euro-centric.

No, wait: martial arts taught me to count to four in Japanese: itch ni san chi (but a quick google suggests that I should be saying "itchi")

Date: 2009-07-09 08:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
I will take a picture when I get home tonight...the picture must be Shared With The World!

Heh...nipple
*giggles with the naughty*

June 2015

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:58 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios