*Pant pant pant...* Sorry, can't stand x-mas carols, heard so many of them over and over and over whenever I go shopping that I CAN'T STAND IT ANOTHER MINUUUUUTE!!! ARRRRGH!
No, actually, it's not so bad anymore, I just teach myself south Park parodies of famous carols, or make up new words to sing. Yes, it's very uncharitable and unseasonable of me, but it keeps me sane. "Wreck the malls this x-mas season, falalalalaa, lalalalLA!!" (cheers me up right away.)
Many of my x-mas presents are being sent out late because of the crush--today, in fact. (At least it's a last-minute chance to spike the packages with glitter or something...*twitch--nono, mustn't--glitter--packages!* I also got some very nice presents, including--brace yerself!! a Mac workstation Bri bought for me, complete with scanner and modem!! (Which doesn't connect for some reason, but give me some time, I WILL Make it run!!) *happy happy me!!!* Bri got in return a step-tansu I found at an asian antiques shop. I'm still very excited and grateful--I should be putting things in livejournal at home within a week, and practicing some html stuff, too...
I'm very grateful I can afford christmas this year--many friends of mine couldn't do much due to a lack of funds. (Been there myself, it's not fun.) I think a great idea would be something unofficial in a holiday, possibly even after New Year's--"Happy Belated Holidays"for all us losers, (myself included) who can't get their act together in time for the holidays, who just need that one extra paycheck to make the holdiays bright. I think it would go over big. Maybe I should have a party...Hmmhmm...
Ms Fledermaus--maybe the Day of St. Elvis the Rock-&Roll Martyr? We could make peanut butter and Nanner sandwiches and watch TNT until Ted Turner makes us all puke..unh hunnnnh...*wiggle wiggle*
No, actually, it's not so bad anymore, I just teach myself south Park parodies of famous carols, or make up new words to sing. Yes, it's very uncharitable and unseasonable of me, but it keeps me sane. "Wreck the malls this x-mas season, falalalalaa, lalalalLA!!" (cheers me up right away.)
Many of my x-mas presents are being sent out late because of the crush--today, in fact. (At least it's a last-minute chance to spike the packages with glitter or something...*twitch--nono, mustn't--glitter--packages!* I also got some very nice presents, including--brace yerself!! a Mac workstation Bri bought for me, complete with scanner and modem!! (Which doesn't connect for some reason, but give me some time, I WILL Make it run!!) *happy happy me!!!* Bri got in return a step-tansu I found at an asian antiques shop. I'm still very excited and grateful--I should be putting things in livejournal at home within a week, and practicing some html stuff, too...
I'm very grateful I can afford christmas this year--many friends of mine couldn't do much due to a lack of funds. (Been there myself, it's not fun.) I think a great idea would be something unofficial in a holiday, possibly even after New Year's--"Happy Belated Holidays"for all us losers, (myself included) who can't get their act together in time for the holidays, who just need that one extra paycheck to make the holdiays bright. I think it would go over big. Maybe I should have a party...Hmmhmm...
Ms Fledermaus--maybe the Day of St. Elvis the Rock-&Roll Martyr? We could make peanut butter and Nanner sandwiches and watch TNT until Ted Turner makes us all puke..unh hunnnnh...*wiggle wiggle*
Did you say peanut butter and banana sandwiches?
Date: 2000-12-26 11:42 am (UTC)Well what can I say but...
Date: 2000-12-26 12:08 pm (UTC)Ms Fledermaus, who shares her b-day with E...except, who's sharing, he's dead? It's all mine now!!!Mine!!! (oh, wait--David Bowie.Damnit.
We have to share the sammitches with him as well...*grumble*)
Re: Well what can I say but...
Date: 2000-12-27 12:02 am (UTC)mmmmmmmmmmm
:-)
Double Mmmmmmmmm...
Date: 2000-12-27 07:17 am (UTC)(But let's skip the 1-pound-of-bacon-sandwiches, hah? I don't want to go into cardiac arrest right here, no matter what the Atkins diet says...)
Ms F--It's a wonder Elvis didn't die sooner, eating something like that...whoa...1 pound of bacon in 1 sandwich!!! And he ate 3 or so in a sitting!!!
actually
Date: 2000-12-27 12:09 am (UTC)Actually, there was one time the songs were good. I was in the grocery store on the 23rd. All fifteen checkout lanes were backed up. I had to wade in and ask people which lane they thought they were in. There was a group of carolers out making the rounds, who stopped in to sing a few. They sounded great. It was the perfect thing for a crowd like that on a day like that.
Carolers are different, says I:)
Date: 2000-12-27 07:29 am (UTC)MMm, next year, I'll go caroling, with offerings like, "Christmas time in Hell" "Christmas at Ground Zero" "A dysfunctional Family Christmas" "Mr Hanky the christmas Poo" and as many people to sing "the
Dreidle song" as I can find...
Ms F...LalalaLA *wheeze* can I bring the accordion?
no second chances
Date: 2000-12-27 12:12 am (UTC)-freekee, who, now that you mention it, doesn't mind an excuse for a party. St. Who?
Re: no second chances
Date: 2000-12-27 07:35 am (UTC)You can see why this unofficial holiday means so much to me...the sacredness...the peanut butter and nanner sandwiches...the inspired hokiness....
(a divine light shines down from an overhead disco ball...)
Ms Fledermaus, never happier than when she's watching a really really bad movie..."Viva Las Vegas?1?Heheheeehee!"
ancient Chinese secret
Date: 2000-12-27 12:13 am (UTC)Oh,dear!!! *snicker*
Date: 2000-12-27 07:40 am (UTC)many cases be used as a staircase in Japanese homes.(They're really pretty--I couldn't afford a really big one, but found a small one to get Brian..) In theory, you could climb up and down one for exercise, but the one I got would be a better arm-weight.:)
Ms Fledermaus, with her furrin' werds...