msfledermaus: (Default)
[personal profile] msfledermaus
If you're not into another rant about the Inferno, please skip this post. I won't be offended...

...I've been having weird dreams lately....some of them involve my so-far-fruitless job hunting. Some involve the death of Hunter Thompson. Sometimes I have terrible dreams about being demoted somehow, sent back to even worse jobs with no benefits and being treated badly. Last night I dreampt of some weird Victorian saga; very Dickensian, with a poor boy trying to do well and make enough money to marry the girl he loves...

...I woke up with a sort of odd revelation...kind of a common-sense revelation, the kind I get best:P It's not just all the struggling people our current economy and society is hurting; it's the ecomomic future of that society too...all our wasted potential is a door that maybe should have led to something beneficial; something that grows and supports itself and the people around it better. Something that could keep an economy afloat. *looks rueful* Sorry about all the five-cent socioeconomic muttering; it's defintiely brought up by stress and frustration from working at the Inferno. Every day I work there I see whole departments getting cheated or lied to or getting the dangling carrot of better hours, better benefits, being valued for your work...I'm sick of watching people I like getting the damn football yanked away when I know that because of the broken promises they can't go to the doctor. Or they wonder if they'll make rent okay. Or they worry that they'll become homeless in their old age because they can't save anything.
It pisses me off...especially since most of what's going on, while pretty damn underhanded and incredibly unethical, is technically legal, or close enough.

I'm trying hard to vote with my feet. The Job market's still not giving me much, but I'm still trying to look out for things. Things for other coworkers, too...Maybe we can all get out and find something even a little better. Lately I've been thinking of maybe talking to a local coffee shop or something about reading Tarot a couple nights a week, stacking it onto my other job. I think if I stuck to a couple of weekday nights I'd still have a rest on the weekends...and it would be a boost getting paid for something I actually enjoy doing.

Meanwhile, I keep trying to keep my chin up. And keep having very strange dreams...

Date: 2005-02-24 01:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] annablume.livejournal.com
It's too bad there's always going to be suckers out there who think, "The Inferno? Yeah! That'd be a cool place to work!" Meaning they can pretty much chew up and spit out employees as they please.

Date: 2005-02-24 01:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
they use their hip front to disguise the fact that their hiring practices for front-line and support staff are identical to Wal-Mart's. We're starting to swarm with contracted part-time-no-benefit staff, with little training and very low pay--$8 an hour to start for front staff and gallery guards. And for the Ops people that are left, they've been told over and over that "there would be more benefited positions open real soon, honest" and that's turned out to be a lie. Sounds like when I finally jump ship they're replacing me with a series of part-time people to save some dubious money--which is ridiculous considering everything my job entails...it would be nearly impossible to do...

I'm so pissed off at the chewing and spitting out thing...I read a report saying that american employees are some of the most ill-trained in the world because of this saving-a-buck thing...

Date: 2005-02-24 02:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] annablume.livejournal.com
Tell me about it. I do the same thing that 99 percent of my co-workers do for 3-5 bucks less an hour and without benefits - and it's not even a cool place. They hire groups of fifty temps at a time, and weed us out with poor treatment. The shitty economy just gives them an excuse.

Date: 2005-02-24 03:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fleur.livejournal.com
I think annablume has it right.

When I worked for the inferno's current next door neighbor, they did things exactly the same way. From front of house all the way back and into the shop, on stage and off. They think that people are falling all over themselves because it's THE G, and they will do anything to work there because it's so holy and reverent. Thus they can pay crap, and for the most part, a lot of the employees they get are crap, or they do not last long at all. That works for a while, but it also means that you get really young kids right out of school who are all excited about the place and will accept 10 dollars an hour, but soon they catch on and realize they are working below the poverty line and they get frustrated and move on.

Don't feel bad. You just are catching on.

Date: 2005-02-24 04:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] roadskoller.livejournal.com
It's like that in almost every business in America. It's a sad reflection on how corporate amerika views their employees. They're just something to use up.

Date: 2005-02-24 07:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] goldleafgoddess.livejournal.com
(((hugs)))) Your good heart will win out, its only a matter of time...keep feeling and visualizing yourself happy! Change is strange, when your heart says to go, you go, and remember that your dreams are within range.

June 2015

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 06:51 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios