msfledermaus: (Default)
[personal profile] msfledermaus
...I'm trying like crazy to get a wide variety of things done this week. I just hope I remember everything I need to get done... I remeber in Psyche class in college that when the human brain is trying to juggle 5 or more things to remember at least one gets dropped--the brain can't handle the overload unless you organize the data into smaller, easier to remember pieces. So I'm trying to keep things reeeeal simple.
I actually forgot to give LJ my money to keep my paid status up, and it lapsed! happily I noticed something was funky with my page yesterday and paid up like a good Maus. *Crosses off list*


(This section is a wad of Inferno babblings. You may want to skip this section, and I would understand.)
this last week at the Inferno has this crushing workload--I'm getting stuff out for our opening in April, I'm training people, trying to get my own last-minute stuff organized, and dealing with sniping and weird jovial passive-agressive stuff from Mr Sta-Puft. They have a replacement for me already; some guy from outside the Inferno. I have 4 days to train him before I run out the door...I can hardly wait to get this week over and done with at last. I can't stand myself. All I think about is the goddamn Inferno, all I talk about is the goddamn Inferno, all my poor, long-suffering friends and family hear about is the Double-Plus-Goddamn Inferno. I want this over so I can have my life back. I just keep reminding myself that things always get messy when you're trying to remodel your life, and this, however annoying and swamping, is only temporary...

And the news has been weird....a lot of out-of-state-and-country friends had been asking me about the Red Lake shootings. I've been following it too; of course. I was reading an article about Red Lake in the Times, and it mentioned that the shooter had an LJ account. This made me sadder, in a way, becuase even with over a million subscribers, it's kind of like losing someone in your neighborhood...I've always liked the way that Livejournal was a helpful tool for dealing with strange stuff in your life, as well as a pretty good way to get some fairly well thought-out, genuine feedback on your feelings and experiences...I've used it on hundreds of occasions to get my bowl of nice nourishing Reality chex. I wish the kid could have gotten more of that out of LJ...though I suppose you have to be actively looking for that sort of thing; it doesn't just land in your lap. I'm also really glad that the article didn't print the name of the account. (I suppose that's a big fat "Duh" here, right? Anyway, the cops have probably locked it off, which makes sense.)

This rambling brooding post has been brought to you by the last of my cold virus and a fair amount of caffeine....

Date: 2005-03-29 03:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
I saw the LJ account last week. The last few posts had thousands of comments. I didn't read much past the ones that were complimentary of what he'd done.

Date: 2005-03-29 05:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] emschin.livejournal.com
complimenting him for shooting the people? Wow.

Date: 2005-03-30 05:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
Specifically, they were complimentary of him standing up for himself, taking matters into his own hands, doing what they wish they had the nerve to do, not taking any shit from anybody... that sort of thing.

Stupid shit.

And dangerous.

Date: 2005-03-30 01:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
Ack....
That's just so disturbing in so many ways...*shakes head*
I mean, there's an obvious boundary between standing up for yourself and stealing other people's lives. Where did we lose that boundary?

Date: 2005-03-29 06:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] roadskoller.livejournal.com
That's really odd. There was that girl that had an LJ account and had her boyfriend shoot her mother too. Maybe they're lonely and diving into LJ fills that hole. They can be anyone they want to be on LJ. *sigh*

Date: 2005-03-30 01:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
...and I suppose with a million of us that there would be a percentage of really, really hurting people...I know it's not exactly news that there are lots of assholes on LJ, too, as well as the nice folk.

*sigh*

I just think of all the people LJ's been helpful for, too...

Date: 2005-03-30 01:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] collarbonepixie.livejournal.com
Yea I saw his lj also...there were only a few entries and like said above like over 700 comments on the last entry...people being desensitized asswipes as usual...but then they deleted all the comments later and I have not been back since...somedays I can't stand the world for so many different reasons and feel as though my mind will just snap from all the chaos and cruelty and craziness of it all...but then I will hear a Robin sing or some such thing and I will be OK for yet another lil while....such is life....

Date: 2005-03-30 01:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
Sing on, you crazy robin, sing on:)

June 2015

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 08:26 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios