msfledermaus: (Default)
[personal profile] msfledermaus
Okay, I do have my yearly checkup later today. But it's still a nice blissful day off, which I needed in the worst way:) I slept in. I had vanilla tea with a friend, and I'm borrowing the laptop to check in this morning.

I do have this bad habit of wanting to *catch up* on my days off...groceries, cleaning, laundry, art projects, knitting projects, projects so I can do another project...I have to make a concentrated effort these days to just sit the hell down and RELAX. Which I'm doing right now. With a laptop pinning me to my seat. So I can't putter around and make myself all tired on my DAY OFF...

Heh, this feels kinda good.

I was also thinking that for the month of March last year, for the most part I was waiting at home on jury duty, and had a pretty blissful time then, too. Two weeks paid vacation my old job couldn't do a thing about. And the first day back I dropped off my resignation to boot:) The end of this week is the 1st anniversary of me giving Dante's Minimalist Inferno the finger and running away to the Jade Mines and the Monkey Suit. I'm a much better person for it, too...I think I'll bring my bosses some cupcakes or something on Friday just to quietly say, "Thanks for giving me a job that pays the bills and cured my ulcer and for not being utter and complete Joan Crawfords."

Oh nooo, I mentioned cupcakes, didn't I? On a Monday. And I can't squish any through the monitor for you, either. I'm a bad friend. Bad Maus. Bad, bad Maus...

Date: 2006-03-27 03:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fleur.livejournal.com
Wow, it's been a whole YEAR?? Yay for you!

Date: 2006-03-27 03:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
I know...time flies, doesn't it? It's incredible, doesn't feel that long ago!

Date: 2006-03-27 03:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sirreal13.livejournal.com
Jury Duty: As long as you can get downtown within an hour, you don't have to wait at home for the phone to ring. Apparently, Mr. StaPuft was too stupid to realize that you can work while you're on call for jury duty. Knowing what hell that put you through, they deserved to give you a paid vacay while you were on call. You were just doing your part to make sure they remained "non-profit." ;)

Date: 2006-03-27 03:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
Damn straight. And they were too mean to cut me loose if I needed to go to the courthouse, and I knew it. So I'm glad they were too stupid to work out anything else.

and it was the only two-week vacation that I got from that place in five years.

Date: 2006-03-27 03:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sirreal13.livejournal.com
They shoulda given you 15 paid days off just for undoing the psychic damage your boss doled out... seriously!!!

June 2015

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 10:41 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios