msfledermaus: (Default)
[personal profile] msfledermaus
...Today I'm having a picnic-y sort of thing with Ben and Peaty and Matt and Erin and whoever else stops by. I'm sure it'll be a lot of fun:) I just finished cooling a couple of chocolate cake rounds from scratch, and I can assemble them into some kind of fun frosting doom later on today.
(I am *very* proud of this, by the way...the last time I baked a cake from scratch it was kinda dry. This time the test cake came out perfect. Was it the Ben and Peaty eggs in the mix, or the Dissarono I threw in for the almond taste?)

It should be a good day.

I do have some fluctuating feelings about my personal patriotism lately of course; who doesn't? I usually take my point of view as the following: I love my country very much, and most of the people in it. But then there's the folks who screw it all up for the rest of us and make me smack myself in the face and yell, "Please oh please, they didn't do that, say they didn't do that..." I think as a country frankly, we all deserve so much better than this bizzare circus we're currently stuck in, and have been stuck in for so very, very long...

So I'll eat hotdogs and cake and celebrate my country...and try to keep in mind that politicians are ephemeral. The stuff I love about the US is gonna be here long after these bozos are long gone...

Date: 2007-07-04 04:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
sometimes, when I talk about how great this country is, I get those looks or comments about how I've got to be kidding, and what a horrible mess this country is. But that's not the point. To me, the greatness is in where we came from, what it all means, and what's possible.

Date: 2007-07-04 11:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
yeah, it just means that once we get it knocked into our thick skulls that there's stuff we Have to Do...then we get off our collective asses and do it. (In theory, anyway...i keep going, "Are we there now?" 'Okay, how about now?")

But I love my home country; just not the stupid bastids running the store right now...

Re: msfledermaus and the geese

Date: 2007-07-05 12:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msfledermaus.livejournal.com
*chuckle*

I love that picture...the geese are so damn funny!!!

June 2015

S M T W T F S
 1234 56
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 09:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios